Cauvery River System With Tributaries ! Explained !!

Cauvery River Source :

The Cauvery river originates at an elevation of 1,341m at Talakaveri on the Brahmagiri range near Cherangala village of Kodagu District ,Karnataka.

Cauvery River Mouth :

The Cauvery rivers ends at Bay Of Bengal at  Poompuhar ,in Nagapattanam District in Tamilnadu.

Cauvery River Basins :

# The total length of Cauvery river is 800km.

# It flows through the states of Karnataka,Tamilnadu,Kerala and Union Territory of Pondicherry.

#It drains total area of 81,155sq.kms.

Karnataka : 34,273sq.kms

Tamilnadu : 43,856sq.kms

Kerala : 2866sq.kms

Union Territory of Pondicherry : 160sq.kms.

# North of Cauvery is Tungabhadra Sub-Basin

#South  of Cauvery runs Palar Basin.

#Western Ghats on western Side and Eastern Ghats on Eastern Side.

Source : Water resources information system of India

Tributaries Of Cauvery River:

Right Tributaries







Left Tributaries :





River Flow Explanation:

From Brahmagiri range,the river flows into Deccan Plateau and reaches Shivanasamudram in Mandya district of Karnataka.

# At Shivanasamudram,the river branches into two parts and falls through a height of91m in a series of falls and rapids.

# One branch forms Srirangapatna Island and other forms a waterfall called as Shivanasamudra waterfall.

# The two branches join after the fall and flow through a wide gorge Mekadatu(Goats Leap) and continues its flow to form boundary between Karnataka and Tamilnadu.

#When Cauvery river reaches Hogennekkal Falls ,it takes southery direction and enters Mettur Reservoir.

# Bhavani joins from right side below Mettur Reservoir.

# Then Cauvery takes easterly direction and enter into the plains of Tamilnadu.

# Now,two more tributaries joins Cauvery named Noyil and Amaravati on right bank and thus River widens and flows as AKHANDA Cauvery.

# After crossing Thrichi District ,the river again divides into southern branch and northern branch.Northern branch names as the COLERON and southern branch remains as cauvery.

# On the cauvery branch lies the Grand Anicut  (Go to this link to learn Grand Anicut

# Now cauvery delta begins and two branches join at Srirangam Island.

# The Delta part of cauvery is the most fertile areas of Cauvery basin.


Tributaries Explanation :

Right Tributaries :

1.Lakshmana Tirtha :

# It rises in Kodag District and Flows eastward.

# It then joins Cauvery river in Krishna Raja Sagar Lake.

2.Kabini River :

# It rises in Wayanad District in Kerala by the confluence of two small rivers from Kerala.

# It then joins with Cauvery at Mysore District ,Karnataka.

# Kabini Wildlife Sanctuary,Nagarahole National Park Located on the banks of River Kabini River.

# Kabini dam in built on river Kabini ,through which significant amount of water is discharged into                                     Mettur Reservoir.

3. River Suvarnavati :

# River suvarnavati is also called as Honnuhole ,begins from Nasurghat hills in Mysore.

# Suvarnavati is 88km long.

4.Bhavani River :

# Originates in Nigiri Hills of Western Ghats.

# The river joins Cauvery at Erode District ,Tamilnadu.

# Silent Valley National Park,Mudumalai National park situated on the banks of river Bhavani.

# Bhavani Sagar dam is located on Erode District on Bhavani river.

# Kodiveri Dam is also situated in Erode District on Bhavani River.

5.Noyil River :

# Noyil river rises from vellingiri hills in the Western Ghats in Tamilnadu.

# It Joins with cauvery river in Karur district in Tamilnadu.

#Two dam belong to Noyil river are 1.Orathuppalayam and 2.Aathupalayam ,first one in Tirupur           district and the second one in Karur District.

6.Amaravati River :

# It rises from Manjampatti Valley between Annamalai hills and Palni Hills near to Indira Gandhi          National Park in Tirupur District.

# It joins with cauvery at Karur District .

# Amaravati dam  on Amaravati river is located in Tirupur District.

Left Tributaries:

1.Harangi River :

#It rises from pushpagiri hills at kodag District in Karnataka.

# The length of the river is 50km.It joins with cauvery in Kodag District itself.

# Harangi Reservoir is located on Harangi river on the Mysore -Kodag borders.

2.Hemavati River :

# It rises near Ballala Rayana Durge in the Chikmagalur District.

# It joins with the cauvery river near Krishnarajasagara.

3.Shimsha River:

#shimsha river rises in Devarayanadurga hill in the Tumkur District of Karnataka.

# It joins with the cauvery near Shivanasamudra Falls.

#The total Length of river is 221km.

#Markonahalli Dam is built across the river Shimsha in Tumkur District.

4.Arkavati River :

# Arkavati river originate at Nandi hills in Chikkaballapura District.

# It joins cauvery river near Mekadatu.

 #Three dams built on this river are Tippagondanahalli Reservoir ,Hesaraghatta Reservoir and                 Manchanabele Dam.

Some Of The Dams On Cauvery River: 

1.Alalur Dam —.> On river Lakshamanathirtha

2.Chakena Hally Dam —>Hemavathy River.

3.Chikkagondanyhally River —>Arkavathy River

4.Doddaladahalli Dam—>Arkavathy River

5.Haseraghatta Dam —> Arkavathy River

6.Kadaba Dam —>Shimsha River

7.Karimuddenahalli Dam—>LakshamanaThirtha RIver

8.Mallaghatta Dam —> Shimsha River

9.Manchanabele Dam —>Arkavathy River

10.Maralvadi Dam—>Arkavathy River

11.Marconahally Dam —> Shimsha River

12.Nittur Dam —> Shimsha River

13.Obichudanahally Dam —> Arkavathy RIver

14.Pillur Dam—> Bhavani River

15.Sarigehally Dam —> Shimsha River



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *